• Oct 12, 2021 . 1 min Read
  • Gogonyo Mp retain seat

Gogonyo county MP Derrick Orone
David William Okiria
Journalist @New Vision

Gogonyo county MP Derrick Orone has retained his seat after winning the election petition case in which Issa Taligoola Bantalib had challenged his victory.

Taligoola who became second in the race that attracted six candidates petitioned the court on grounds that the Electoral Commission failed to conduct a free and fair election.

He also allegedly faulted Orone for having engaged in acts of bribery, undue influence, sectarianism and defamation.

Taligoola in his petitions represented by Alliance Advocates, wanted the court to declare the petitioner winner of the election or direct for re-election.

In Tuesday's ruling at Mbale High Court, Justice Immaculate Busingye Byruhanga stated that the petitioner (Taligoola) has no substantial evidence to prove to the court the allegations made.

Taligoola upon hearing the ruling asked the court to guide him on the procedure of appealing for the judgement.

Orone, who was represented by Okello Oryem and company advocates, said he has always defeated his rival in all the election petitions.

Taligola the independent candidate was defeated with a margin of 66 votes. He obtained 6,214 votes and Orone 6,280.

The other candidates that participated in the Gogonyo county elections included; Francis Mukula the former MP Agule, Micheal Emuron of FDC, Gerald Bona and Sam Ourum.


Related Articles
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});