30 called up for Women's Elite Cricket League

Dec 08, 2020

The Uganda Cricket Association (UCA) has made good on their promise to organise a women's edition of the Elite Cricket League following the successful men's showing early last month.

This week, the women will have their turn in what should be a competitive affair involving 30 of the best female cricket players in the country at the Lugogo Oval.

The 30 players have been put in two franchise teams — Aziz Damani Hurricanes and Challengers Blizzards.

"The purpose of this tournament is to prepare for a long 2021 international season. Some of our best players are in candidate classes and therefore might miss out on selection for the international games because they have to sit their final exams next year," Franklin Najjumba the UCA women's development officer said.

"We intend to use this tournament to expose many players to competitive cricket so that we have a big enough squad that can sustain our international engagements next year," Najjumba added.

Both teams boast of talented, emerging, and experienced players.

Azi Damani has the likes of Rachel Nyono, Immaculate Nakisiyu, and Naomi Kayondo among others while the Challengers have Kevin Awino, Janet Mbabazi, and Rita Musamali among others.

Both teams will undergo mandatory COVID-19 tests after which they will enter into a residential camp at Kololo SS students hostel. There will be no fans allowed at the venue.

The tournament is supported by Aziz Damani, Metro Tyres, Pepsi, Lato Milk, India Association of Uganda, Deep End Sports, and Budo Cricket Club.

Aziz Damani Hurricanes: Barbara Mukankusi, Rachel Ntono, Shubeika Naigaga, Naomi Kayondo (vice-captain), Clare Mushakamba, Shakira Saddick, Janet Nakiranda, Maria Nyende, Christine Anayo, Immaculate Nakisuyi (captain), Evelyn Anyipo, Patricia Malemekia, Lynette Nakato, Consy Aweko, Teddy Ayella.

Challenger Blizzards: Damalie Busingye, Leona Babirye, Jennifer Nabwana, Janet Mbabazi (vice-captain), Rita Musamali, Kevin Awino (captain), Stephanie Nampiina, Agnes Abigaba, Esther Kayaga, Carol Namugenyi, Eunice Kobusingye, Irene Alumo, Sarah Walaza, Hope Wanichan, Brenda Nabisalu.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});