Monday,July 13,2020 01:47 AM
  • Home
  • Sport
  • Rugumayo eyeing Golfer of the Year award

Rugumayo eyeing Golfer of the Year award

By Michael Nsubuga

Added 31st October 2017 01:56 PM

Last year’s winner Vincent Byamukama and runner up Fred Wanzala finished joint fourth

Rugumayo eyeing Golfer of the Year award

Rugumayo added the Kinyara Open to his growing trophy cabinet. Photo by Michael Nsubuga

Last year’s winner Vincent Byamukama and runner up Fred Wanzala finished joint fourth

Uganda Golf Open champion Ronald Rugumayo could be on his way to win the Nile Special USPA Golfer of the Year Award after winning the Kinyara Open over the weekend.

Rugumayo's produced the best score of the tournament, a 143 gross over the two days to add another trophy to his collection this year, having finished third at the Nyali Open in Nairobi a few days earlier.

Professional golfer Phillip Kasozi edged Brian Toolit in a play off after both had tied on 144 gross, to win the biggest share of sh10m during the Kinyara Open in Masindi on Sunday.

Kampala's Kasozi, who led the field on Saturday with a two-under-par 70 beat Toolit with a birdie on the 18 in the play off to claim his second win of the season.

Silver Opio from Entebbe finished third overall, a stroke behind with UGU's Brian Mwesigwa who finished two strokes off.

hillip asozi finished top in the inyara pen on unday hoto by ichael subugaPhillip Kasozi finished top in the Kinyara Open on Sunday. Photo by Michael Nsubuga

Last year's winner Vincent Byamukama and runner up Fred Wanzala finished joint fourth, three strokes off the leader over two days of action.

The tournament was co-sponsored by UAP Old Mutual, ICEA, and Kinyara Sugar.

Meanwhile team Kabalaza beat Katogo 13-10 points to reclaim their crown over the weekend in Entebbe, in the annual social golf match-play championship, ahead of the Castle Lite Entebbe Open on November 4.

In some of the matches that won them the title, Joseph Salani beat Mark Kaddumukasa 6&3, Allan Kateeba beat Andrew Ankunda 6&4, Vincent Katutsi beat Jezan Muhamed 4&2, Allan Muhereza beat Graham Byagaba 8&7, Peter Apell beat Marvin Kagoro 2UP and Patrick Kagoro beat Jonathan Bakwega 6&4.

Professionals top ten

Phillip Kasozi           70 74 144

Brian Toolit               75 69 144

Silver Opio                74 71 145

Brian Mwesigwa       71 75 146

Vincent Byamukama 74 73 147

Fred Wanzala            75 72 147

Peter Sendaula           72 76 148

Gerald Kabuye          75 73 148

Deo Akope                74 75 149

Henry Lujja               75 76 151 

Overall winners

R. Rugumayo 143 gross

S. Baguma 126 nett

Group A

P. Kato 135nett

G. Nsubuga 137

C. Basaliza 140

Group B

N. Ayiko 134nett

S. Dricile 135c/b

G. Asindua 135

Group C

R. Atugonza 131nett

E. Lwate 142

G. Okum 146


M. Kyomugisha 171 gross

Nett winner: A. Khamis 159

Group B

M. Nsenga 146nett

L. Bako 147

Related articles

More From The Author

More From The Author