Thursday,February 21,2019 22:44 PM

National Biosafety Committee gets new chair

By Christopher Bendana

Added 18th November 2016 10:23 AM

Dr. Charles Mugoya replaces Prof. John Opuda Asibo.

Dr. Charles Mugoya is the new chairman of the National Biosafety Committee.  He replaces Prof. John Opuda Asibo who retires.

The new vice-chairperson is Dr Yona Baguma, the deputy director general at the National Agricultural Research Organization (NARO).

Without a Biotechnology and Biosafety law in place, NBC, a body made of experts from different disciplines operating under the Uganda National Council for Science and Technology (UNCST), is working to ensure safe development of GMOs in the country.

Welcoming the new members on Thursday at UNCST offices in Ntinda, Kampala Dr. Elioda Tumwesigye, the minister for science, technology and innovation asked Asibo to provide knowledge when requested.

Dr Peter Ndemere, UNCST executive secretary, said NBC had ensured accountability in the developing of GMOs.

He explained that NBC had ensured compliance during confined field trials of GMOs testing of 15 crops. The crops are bananas, maize, cassava, rice sweet potatoes and rice.

Dr.Theresa Ssengooba, the chairperson UNCST, praised Asibo for the well job done especially in the period it takes to approve requests for testing in a confined field.

On his part, Asibo said he believed they had done the right things during their tenure.

Mugoya is an experienced biotechnologist. He has worked with the UNSCT and the Association for Strengthening Agricultural Research in Eastern and Central Africa.

NBC has been in existence since 1996. The members are from various disciplines including health, environment, agricultures, and univererities among others.

Related Articles

More From The Author

Related articles