Saturday,April 20,2019 21:35 PM

80 MPs lose elections

By Vision Reporter

Added 28th February 2006 03:00 AM

AT least 80 MPs have lost their seats in the just concluded parliamentary elections. Seventeen ministers including First Deputy Prime Minister Gen. Moses Ali are among the losers. Detailed map

By Felix Osike,
James Odong
and Milton Olupot

AT least 80 MPs have lost their seats in the just concluded parliamentary elections. Seventeen ministers including First Deputy Prime Minister Gen. Moses Ali are among the losers.

New faces in the next Parliament include First Lady Janet Museveni (Ruhama) who defeated FDC strongman Augustine Ruzindana, and Jimmy Akena, a son to the late president Milton Obote who beat Lira Municipality MP Cecilia Ogwal.

Others are Kampala International University student Ahbar Godi who will represent Arua Municipality, FDC’s Beti Kamya (Rubaga North) Susan Nampijja Lukyamuzi who defeated five male contenders to take her father Ken Lukyamuzi’s former seat.

Analysis of the results also shows that the NRM party will have a comfortable majority in the Eighth Parliament. The tally shows that so far, of the directly elected MPs, NRM has 190, FDC 34, DP nine, UPC six, Jeema one and CP one. There are 36 Independents.
But President Yoweri Museveni’s political aide Moses Byaruhanga said the NRM will have 227 MPs, including the pro-NRM independents.

Ten MPs in Teso region, nine of them NRM candidates, were voted out. They are: Isaiah Imumet (Usuk), State minister for northern Uganda Grace Akello (Women Amuria), Sam Anyolo (Soroti county), State minister for health Mike Mukula (Soroti Municipality), Martin Orech (Kalaki), Mary Amajo (Woman, Kaberamaido), Charles Koluo (Serere), and State minister for disaster preparedness Christine Aporu (Kumi).

Two other Teso MPs Dr. Esele (Bukedea) and John Eresu (Kaberamaido) lost in the NRM primaries.

In West Nile, Ahmed Awongo (Koboko) who replaced the late Francis Ayume, lost to former ambassador to Japan, James Baba.

Other incumbents who lost in that region are: Saidi Okuti (Arua Municipality), Anim Angupale (Woman, Arua), Bakoko Bakoru (Ayivu), Nusura Tiperu (Yumbe), Othman Alonga (Yumbe). Joyo Mindra (Woman, Moyo), Amassi Pataki (Obongi) and Entandikwa minister Agard Didi lost in the NRM party primaries.

FDC stalwarts in the region Alfred Onzima (Maracha) and Kassiano Wadri (Terego) won by big margins.

In Nebbi, State minister for public service Okumu Ringa and the women representative Betty Udongo were voted out.

In Acholi region, all the women MPs lost their seats. They are security minister Betty Akech (Gulu), Jane Akwero Odwong (Kitgum) and Santa Okot (Pader).

The directly elected MPs in the region who lost are international cooperation minister Okello Oryem (Chua), Dan Kidega (Youth northern), Zachary Olum (Nwoya) and Jacob Oulanyah (Omoro).

In Lango, State minister for tourism, Jovino Akaki was voted out. Others from the sub-region who lost their seats are Stanley Omodi Okot (Kole), Margaret Ateng Otim (Lira), Anang Odur (Kwania), Alex Okot (Moroto), Cecilia Ogwal (Lira Municipality) and John Odit (Erute South).

Elections for Oyam South were postponed because one candidate’s name was missing from the ballot paper. The new woman MP for Amolatar district is Carolyne Okao.

In Karamoja, women representatives Rose Lochiam (Nakapiripirit) and Bokora MP Apuun Longoli also lost. Paul Lokeris (Pian) was defeated in the party primaries.

In Mbale and Tororo districts, some incumbents lost their seats. They are Edward Wesonga (Bubulo West) and Richard Mukula (Bunghoko north).

Alfred Kajeke who has been Youth MP eastern emerged winner of the Mbale Municipality race. The incumbent Wanjusi Wasieba lost in the NRM party primaries.

In Kapchorwa, the long-serving Tingey MP Steven Chebrot and Kongasis MP Kapkwomu Ndiwa also lost their seats.

The next parliament will also have one MP of Asian descent, Sanjay Tanna, who defeated the incumbent Yeri Apollo Ofwono in Tororo Municipality. Tanna is a Tororo-based businessman. He won in a protest vote over the failure by the government to grant a district to the Tororo Iteso.

Other MPs who lost in Tororo are Akisoferi Ogolla (West Budama South) and State minister for labour Henry Obbo (West Budama North). Obbo lost to former Privatisation Unit boss William Oketcho.

In Busia, fiery legislator Aggrey Awori (Samia Bugwe North) and State minister for higher education Simon Mayende (Samia Bugwe South) were kicked out.

In Mukono, Onyango Kakoba made a comeback after defeating the incumbent MP Wagonda Muguli in the Buikwe North race.

In Pallisa, veteran MP Rainer Kafire lost her seat while Nicholas Gole lost the Budaka seat to Loyce Kiryapawo.

MPs who lost their seats in Buganda are State minister for housing Francis Babu (Kampala Central), Tom Kayongo (Rubaga North), Nsubuga Nsambu (Makindye East), David Matovu (Entebbe Municipality), Sitenda Sebalu (Kyadondo East), Mike Sebalu (Busiro East), State minister for internal affairs Dr. Kezimbira Miyingo (Bukoto Midwest), Ethics minister Tim Lwanga (Kyamuswa), Margaret Zziwa (Kampala), Lule Mawiya (Kalungu East) and Godfrey Kiwanda (Mityana North).

MPs Muruli Mukasa, Baguma Isoke, Benigna Mukiibi, Muganwa Kajura, Lydia Balemezi (Mukono) and Mulindwa Birimumaso (Bukoto west) lost in the primaries, while the Masaka Woman MP Sauda Mugerwa was disqualified before the elections.

In Busoga region, FDC heavyweights were routed. They include Salaamu Musumba (Bugabula), James Mwandha (Disabled), Frank Nabwiso (Kagoma), Abdu Katuntu (Bugweri) and Martin Wandera (workers). UPC’s Patrick Mwondha and NRM’s William Kiwagama and the Independent Asupasa Isiko also lost.

Francis Mukama, Dr. Richard Bulamu, and Moses Kizige lost in the NRM primaries.

All ministers in the western region, except State minister for gender Sam Bitangaro, retained their seats. The defeated western MPs are Capt. Charles Byaruhanga (Kibale), John Kazoora (Kashaari), Augustine Ruzindana (Ruhaama), Jack Sabiti (Rukiga) and Miria Matembe (Mbarara).

MPs who did not seek re-election were former Vice President Dr. Wandira Kazibwe, transport state minister Andruale Awuzu, Nobert Mao, Sarah Kiyingi, Johnson Nkuuhe, Ben Etonu, Capt. Steven Basaliza and Beatrice Kiraso.

80 MPs lose elections

Related Articles

More From The Author

Related articles