NRM sweeps district elections

By Vision Reporter

Added 25th February 2011 03:00 AM

It was a clean sweep for the NRM in elections for LC V chairpersons and councilors in Teso region.

By Apollo Mubiru

It was a clean sweep for the NRM in elections for LC V chairpersons and councilors in Teso region.

The first results coming in from the region indicated that Ngora FDC’s Bernard Eumu won the race that had five contestants.

George Michael Egunyu of NRM retained his Soroti seat. Bukedea was taken by William Tukei (NRM). Ismail Orot (NRM) is for Kumi. Serere district Joseph opit (NRM).

In Amuria Francis Aruma (NRM) emerged the winner. Robert Ekongot of NRM is for Katakwi as Albert Ejuku of the same party takes Kaberamaido according to results announced by the Electoral Commission.

Reports also indicate that long serving district chaperons in some area were trounced by new comers.

In Rakai, a primary school teacher, Robert Mugabi (Independent) trounced long serving district chairperson Vicent Semakula Settuba of NRM.

In Butambala district Gofrey Mafumu (NRM) won. NRM’s Peter Odok Oceng of NRM took Agago district. Nyeko Luka (NRM) is for Kitgum.

Veteran politician Alhaji Abdul Nadduli (NRM) is the winner for Luwero district LC V elections. He defeated the incumbent Ronald Ndaula.

The incumbent Tororo district chairman Emmanuel Osuna of NRM retained his seat.

In Kayunga Steven Dadaga (NRM) defeated Thomas Mulondo (Independent) to the office he once held before the former Inspector General of Government Faith Mwondha suspended him over abuse of office.

NRM’s Komu Kiwanuka retained his seat in Nakaseke.

In Mpigi, John Luwakanya (NRM) has been declared the winner as Wandera Muluri (NRM) emerged victorious in Nakasongola district.

In Sembabule, the hotly contested district seat was won by NRM flag bearer Dr. Elly Muhumuza. Muhumuza ousted Herman Sentongo (independent) who has served the district for two terms. After the presiding officer announced the results, Sentongo protested and matched out the district hall complaining that he had been cheated.

In the newly created district of Bukomansimbi, Mohammed Katerega (IPC) was declared the winner. He defeated NRM’s Nalongo Tibulya.
George Bagonza (NRM) retained the Hoima seat.

In Kanungu district, Josephine Kasya won the hotly contested race to serve a third term in office.

NRM sweeps district elections

Related Articles

More From The Author

Related articles