Milton Akaki (08) and Gift Sebuguzi (16) battle it out during the MAU event. Photo by Johnson Were
Johnson Were
Journalist @New Vision

Friday-Sunday FIM MXoAN

Friday: Registration & Scrutineering

Saturday: Practice & Heat One

Sunday: Practice & Heats 2&3 plus Prize Giving 

After clearing the Victoria Raceway Pack Garuga as host for the 2022 FIM MXoAN championship from Friday to Sunday, Uganda has named 45 racers to carry the nation's flag in the championship. 

According to the list released by Kisitu Mayanja, the deputy vice-president in charge of Motorcycling in the Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU), there are 87 racers, but only 45 will carry the Uganda flag, the rest will be individual racers. 

Each class has five racers with bib numbers 26-30 allocated to Uganda, but out of the five racers in a class, only the best two finishers shall score points for the country. 

“We released a team which I think is the best and according to the regulations only the best two finishers per class shall be scoring for the country, but if an individual racer gets a podium finish, he will be awarded his medal,” Kisitu explained. 

According to article 19.4 of the competition regulations, only the best two racers of each country per class shall score points for that country, and this rule out numbers and calls for quality racers.

However, some racers are likely to be a liability to team Uganda because they are racing as independents yet they are better than some of the team members. 
This put it that they will grab the points that would be scored by team Uganda.
For example, in the MX125class, Jeremiah Mawanda, Milton Akaki, and Waleed Omar have always been better than Anthony Benders, Milton Akena, and Daryl Muhindo yet they are racing as individuals.
The same in the MX2 class where Wazir Omar and Allan Alema have always been better than  Joshua Mwangala and Jonathan Wejuli. 

 In the Peewee class (4-6years), Abigail Muwanguzi, Abigail Katende, Helena Birungi, Mark Kugonza and Maria Nakabuga. 

In the 50c class (5-9years), Jeremiah Makumbi, Ethan Blick, Filbert Muwonge, Abdul Wagaba, and Jude Kyle Musedde.

The others including faith Deedan, Shanitah Mirembe, Shid Mutebi, Ethan Musedde, and Ellie Mitima shall race as individuals.

In the 65cc, (7-12 years), Miguel Katende, Jonathan Katende, Ramathan Mubiru Liam Ntale, and Alley Kimera shall score for Uganda. 

The individual racers include Haiden Kalisa, Ashraf Mbabazi Jr, Leonel Ntale, Ashram Makumbi, Talha Kateete, Adam Kateete, Adam Kabuye, Maxwell Bukenya, Austin Asiimwe, Isaac Mitima Ethan Jassa, and Mahad Lukwago. 

In the 85cc class(10-14years), Jerome Mubiru, Mubarak Ssenoga, Ron Young, Kieth Aine, and Gift Sebuguzi will score for team Uganda.

The rest including Benjamin Kugonza, Pascal Kasozi, Emmanuel Lubega, Marcus Bukenya, Malcolm Omoding, Sudaice Mubiru, and Jayson Burrows will race as individuals.

In the MX125cc class;(13-17years), Kylan Wekesa, Milton Akena, Anthony Benders, Alon Orland, and Daryl Muhindo will score points while Adam Owor, Trevor Kugonza, Waleed Omar, Milton Akaki, Telvin Jjunju, Malcolm Lubega, and Jeremiah Mawanda will score as individuals. 

In the MX2 class (16years and above), Joshua Mwangala, Jonathan Wejuli, Fatuh Kiggundu, Stav Orland, and Fortune Sentamu will score for Uganda. 

The rest including Jonathan Muhindo, Mert Jordan, Wazir Omar, Ismail Mukiibi, and Allan Alema, will be individual racers. 

In the MX1 class (17years and above), Alastair Blick, Maxime Van pee, Robert Jingo, Ashim Sserwadda, and Aviv Orland. 

In the veterans 35-49years, Uganda will field Christian Milletti, Barak Orland, Asaf Natan, Juncture Serugunda, Shafik Ssekitoleko will score points while Ali Kigozi, Newton Sambo, and Mahad Kaweesa will race as individuals. 

In the Master 50 years and over, Michael Akena, Andrea Marinelli, and Tonny Akaki while the women's elite class has Shamilah Kateete and Abigail Mwangala.

The women's open class has Sharifah Kateete, Shadia Kateete, Esther Mwangala, Rose Turinawe, Asiimwe Kugonza, Asia Kasirye, Hamida Sambo, and Swansi.


No Comment

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});