Tuesday,December 01,2020 04:58 AM

Uganda's best teachers of 2018 honoured

By Joseph Kizza

Added 1st November 2018 11:05 AM

"The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires."

Uganda's best teachers of 2018 honoured

"The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires."


KAMPALA - The cream of the crop in the teaching profession in Uganda this year is now known, thanks to an annual competition dubbed 'Teachers Making a Difference' spearheaded by Vision Group.

Twelve teachers emerged the best across the country in the 2018 campaign.

Of this dozen, five were announced as the best of the best and will enjoy a sponsored week-long study tour to Ireland, courtesy of the Irish Embassy.

Robert Abala Okello buoyed to the summit of the log as the overall winner.

Edward Wambi, Santina Auma, Bro. Godfrey Lutaaya and Catherine Nabwire also made the top five.

Santina Auma, one of the top five winners, took a photo with the Irish ambassador to Uganda, William Carlos at the event

During an award-giving function at the Vision Group head office on a warm Thursday, all the 12 winners each received sh1.5m, a certificate and gifts for their respective schools.

The rest of the winners included Timothy Wambuga, Naome Gidudu, Sr. Mary Gorreti, Fred Mubuya, Molly Ceniru, Joyce Achan Oryema and Grace Annet Ariokot.

Ireland's ambassador to Uganda, William Carlos, said that having been once a teacher himself, education is close to his heart.

"The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires," he said in his remarks.

He underlined that the next step for Uganda is to ensure that refugee children get access to education, as the country is one of the leading refugee-hosting nations in the world and majority of the refugees are children.

The State Minister for Primary Education, Rosemary Nansubuga Seninde was the chief guest of the event.

New Vision editors, from front-left, John Eremu (features) and John Kakande attended the function



A group of teachers from Ireland also attended the event



Vision Group chief executive Robert Kabushenga interacted with Ambassador William Carlos

Barbara Kaija, Vision Group's editor-in-chief, was keen to pay tribute to the efforts teachers put into their work.

"Teachers go an extra mile to teach," she said.

"Some children come hungry, the classes are big. But in any corner of Uganda, you find a teacher who is making it."

For nearly a decade now, multi-media company Vision Group has been looking out for the cream of the nation in the community-valued profession of teaching, and awarding them for their efforts.

To ensure the highest level of transparency in the latest competition, an independent panel of eminent personalities selected the 12 winners.

They included veteran educationist Fagil Mandy as the lead judge and Immaculate Epenu, a teacher. Dr Jane Egau, a commissioner in the education ministry, and Barbara Ofwono Buyondo, the chief executive of Victoria Education Services, were the other judges.

 Ambassador Carlos (left) and Minister Seninde, the chief guest (right)



A broad winning smile! Each of the 12 winners received sh1.5m, a certificate and gifts










Bro. Godfrey Lutaaya, who was among the top winners, would not miss out on a selfie opportunity with Minister Seninde



Robert Abala Okello - headteacher of Panykworo Primary School in Gulu district

Edward Wambi - deputy principal of Bishop Willis Core Primary Teachers' College in Iganga district

Santina Auma - headmistress of Nakoreto Primary School, Kotido district

Bro. Godfrey Lutaaya - headteacher of Mugwanya Preparatory School, Kabojja in Wakiso district

Catherine Nabwire - Busia Integrated Primary School

Timothy Wambuga - Busesa Mixed Primary School

Naome Gidudu - Nakirungu Primary Sironko district

Sr. Mary Gorreti Apolot - headteacher of St Clare Girls' School

Fred Mubuya - headteacher, Bukiga Primary School in Bududa district

Molly Ceniru - headteacher of Olua Green Hill Nursery School Arua district

Joyce Achan Oryema - headteacher Pakwelo Primary School, Gulu district

Grace Annet Ariokot - Madera Girls Primary School, Soroti district


Related articles

More From The Author

More From The Author