Thursday,August 06,2020 14:54 PM

Kahima Wins Ruhaama NRM MP Flag

By Rwambuka Mugisha

Added 10th December 2017 03:46 PM

The seat fell vacant after the death of former MP William Beijukye.

Kahima Wins Ruhaama NRM MP Flag

The seat fell vacant after the death of former MP William Beijukye.

PIC: Winner Moses Mugabe Kahima


The National Resistance Movement (NRM) electoral commission chairman, Dr. Tanga odoi, has officially announced Moses Mugabe Kahima as the winner for Ruhaama NRM flag bearer.   

This was at Nyarutuntu the Headquarters of Ruhaama county on Saturday the 9th December 2017.

Kahima was declared winner after trouncing his rival Eng. Jackson Mubangizi Kabikire with a margin of 6,032 Votes during their hotly contested race. Kahima polled 20,463 (31.2%), while his closest challenger garnered 14,431 votes (22%).

The race attracted by a total of eight candidates including Johnson Rumanywa the young brother to the fallen Ruhaama county  MP William Zinkuratire.

Rumanywa took the third position with 9,579 votes (14.5%), as Mpeirwe Arthur Rwobushanku was the fouth with 8,581 votes (13.1%), followed by Dr.Bazinzi Natamba who got 5,190 votes (7.3%), as Adens Ntare Rutaro polled 2,371 votes (3.6%).

Others are: Tom Rwomushana-Tombox  who got 1,897 votes (2.9%), as Pamela Owembabazi took the last position with 1,720 votes (2.6%).

The invalid votes were 1,382 out of the 65,564 total cast votes.

PIC: Kahima (left) celebrates after being declared winner

He noted that the exercise was free and fair although some candidates were not satisfied with the results. He also disclosed that there was very low turn up.  Ruhaama's NRM registered voters are over 100,000. But only about half participated.

Meanwhile, Eng. Jackson Mubangizi Kabikire, Johnson Rumanywa, Dr.Bazinzi Natamba and Adens Ntare Rutaro were not satisfied with the results announced by Odoi.

They alleged rigging, especially in Rukoni East su-county from where Kahima hails, and threatened to go to court.

Kahima's rivals also alleged intimidations by security personels and the Police involvement at some polling stations in Kitwe town council, Rukoni west & East, Nyakyera and other areas where they were forcing people to vote for Kahima.

In Ntungamo sub-county (Kahunga), the Police also arrested the driver of former Ntungamo municipality MP Yona Musinguzi Bikwatsizehi over malpractice. Musinguzi Bikwatsizehi  escaped arrest, but his official Motor vehicle (V8) Reg.No.UAM 893 J. was impounded by police alongside his driver who was also detained.

The Ntungamo district NRM Returning Officer, Maria Mirembe, said Police was right to impound the Former MP's Motor Vehicle and arrest his driver because they were caught in the malpractices.

Related articles

More From The Author

More From The Author