Wednesday,August 12,2020 19:14 PM

NRM's Akello wins Kaabong seat

By Admin

Added 29th August 2017 07:06 AM

Rose Lilly Akello is the new Kaabong Woman MP.

NRM's Akello wins Kaabong seat

Rose Lilly Akello is the new Kaabong Woman MP.

PIC: Akello was given the flag by party chairman Yoweri Museveni to steer NRM to victory in the by-election, and she has delivered. (Picture source: Twitter)


NORTHERN UGANDA - NRM's Rose Lilly Akello has been elected the new Woman Member of Parliament for Kaabong district in a closely-contested by-election.

Akello won with 21,814 votes to edge her closest rival, independent Tubo Christine Nakwang with a difference of 256 votes.

Former MP Nakwang garnered 21, 558 votes.

Oppostion party FDC's Adyaka Judith trailed with 593 votes from the 43,965 total number of votes cast.

Kaabong district returning officer Sarah Iyolu declared Akello the winner shortly before midnight Monday.

The seat fell vacant when the Court of Appeal nullified the election of Nakwang.

The Electoral Commission received notification from the clerk of parliament on the vacancy on June 27. And as required by law, the by-election had to be conducted within 60 days from the time of the notice.

The by-election was held on Monday (August 28), which was the statutory deadline.

Meanwhile, NRM's secretary general Justine Kasule Lumumba has congratulated Akello and the people of Kaabong for choosing NRM to represent them in parliament.


Related articles

More From The Author

More From The Author