Wednesday,October 21,2020 19:48 PM
  • Home
  • Sport
  • Lubega declared Kabalega Rally winner

Lubega declared Kabalega Rally winner

By Johnson Were

Added 18th November 2016 08:33 AM

"To me motorsport has won."

Lubega declared Kabalega Rally winner

The crew of Lubega Godfrey and Mungoma Justin in action. (Credit: Johnson Were)

"To me motorsport has won."

National Rally Championship standings

1. Hassan Alwi 394

2. Jas Mangat 300

3. Arthur Blick 240

4. Christakis Fitidis 230

5. Ronald Ssebuguzi 215

The crew of Godfrey Lubega and Justin Mungoma in Subaru Impreza N12 has been declared winner of the Kabalega Rally that ended in controversy in July in Masindi.

Justin Mungoma, Lubega's navigator, petitioned the Senate after he was not satisfied by the court of appeal decision.

Senate chairman MacDusman Kabega read the ruling and ordered Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU) to refund the sh500, 000 the drivers had paid as a result of a Court of Appeal ruling.

"To me motorsport has won," said petitioner Mungoma.

"We have to follow the regulations and that's how all stakeholders will enjoy the sport."

Meanwhile, Jas Mangat will enter this weekend's MOSAC rally in Jinja trailing Hassan Alwi by 94 points.

Related articles

More From The Author

More From The Author