Thursday,July 09,2020 09:13 AM
  • Home
  • West
  • Ntungamo community urged to form SACCOs

Ntungamo community urged to form SACCOs

By Rwambuka Mugisha

Added 11th July 2016 12:05 PM

But leaders of such groups were told to be cautious while recruiting members.

Ntungamo community urged to form SACCOs

District LC5 chairman Dennis Singahache (blue shirt), Rwemiriro Nyekundeire Group chaiman Topher Byambagambi (in suit) and other guests opening the group's offices. (Credit: Rwambuka Mugisha)

But leaders of such groups were told to be cautious while recruiting members.

Ntungamo district LC5 chairman has urged the local community to form savings groups (SACCOs) as one of the ways they can benefit from the wealth creation programme.

Dennis Singahache was commissioning the Rwemiriro Nyekundeire Group in Kishami, Ruhaama as guest of honour.

This was at the group's newly constructed offices.

But he warned leaders of such groups to be cautious while recruiting members, saying that some end up becoming defaulters.

Such people, Singahache said, can lead to the collapse of savings schemes.

Topher Byabagambi, who is the LC2 chairman of Kishami Parish, is the chairman of the newly launched group.

Group members were commended for raising money to buy a piece of land and construct an office block.

Singahache pledged to continue supporting the group, saying it is focused and helps the community in fighting poverty.

He added that such groups have helped many parents to take their children to school.

Group leader Byabagambi asked the LC5 boss to help them and work on the road that connects Nyakyera, Rwemiriro and Ruhaama because farmers have failed to sell their produce due because the road is impassable.

He also hailed the district chairman for supporting them in registration of the group and donating to the office block construction.

 On the same day, the board members of Rwemiriro Nyekundeire Group were sworn in: Topher Byabagambi as chairman, Bangirana Herbert as vice chairman, Betoraniza Bernard as general secretary, Abarisigara Milton as assistant general Secretary and Evan Mugisha as treasurer.


Related articles

More From The Author

More From The Author