• Home
  • News
  • Ibanda Municipality goes to the polls

Ibanda Municipality goes to the polls

By Lawrence Mucunguzi

Added 26th July 2018 08:06 PM

There are 99 polling stations in Ibanda Municipality

Aaaaaaabig2 703x422

The EC’s Hajjat Aisha Nalubega addressing a stakeholders meeting on the eve of the elections. Photo by Lawrence Mucunguzi

There are 99 polling stations in Ibanda Municipality

The deputy Electoral Commission (EC) chairperson, Hajjat Aisha Lubega, says all is set for the election of the Member of Parliament, mayor and other seats in Ibanda Municipality on Friday.

While addressing a stakeholders meeting in preparation for election day, Lubega noted that a total of 55685 registered voters were approved to participate in the polls in the divisions of Kagongo, Bufunda and Bisheshe.

Lubega is leading the EC team overseeing the exercise in Ibanda Municipality. 

The meeting attended by candidates, their agents, security, media and EC staff was held at Hills View Gardens on Thursday. 

Lubega revealed that the polling materials were already in Ibanda and they include 99 ballot boxes, 309 transparent ballot boxes, 309 basins and 99 cordoning tapes. The voting materials are being guarded by Police at Ibanda district EC offices.

There are 99 polling stations in Ibanda Municipality according to Tolbert Musinguzi, the Ibanda district registrar

The Ibanda district Police commander, SP Rogers Chebene warned candidates and the general public to guard against election malpractices and acts of violence during elections.

He said individuals who will attempt to sabotage the exercise especially the candidates, shall be arrested and disqualified.

He noted that the public should report to their nearby Police stations in case of any violence or threats.

They are four candidates contesting on the MP seat; Tarsis Rwaburindore of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party, Robert Kiromba an independent, Forum for Democratic Change candidate Alex Byaruhanga, and Peter Agaba the NRM-leaning independent.

Apolo Kibeherere of NRM is tussling it out with Anselm Arinaitwe of FDC in the mayoral race.

More From The Author

Related articles