• Home
  • News
  • 12 institutes to act as centres of excellence

12 institutes to act as centres of excellence

By David Lumu, Francis Emorut

Added 10th February 2018 08:13 AM

The 12 institutes will network with the four existing centres of excellence

PIC: Joseph Kakooza and Loy Muhwezi signing the memorandum of understanding for skilling technical institutes in Uganda at the education ministry headquarters in Kampala recently. (Credit: Francis Emorut)


KAMPALA - The government has selected 12 vocational technical institutes to deliver high quality demand-driven programmes in skilling Ugandans.

The announcement was made during the signing of the memorandum of understanding between the education ministry and the principals of the institutes at the ministry’s headquarters in Kampala recently.

The institutes are Karera Technical Institute in Bushenyi, Nyamitanga Technical Institute (Mbarara) Rwentanga Farm Institute (Mbarara), Kitgum Technical Institute, Kalongo Technical Institute (Agago), Ora Technical Institute (Zombo) and Butaleja Technical Institute.

Others are Kasodo Tehanical Institute (Pallisa), Kaliro Technical Institute (Kaliro), Ssese Farm Institute (Kalangala), Lake Katwe Training Institute (Kasese) and Kaberamaido Technical Institute.

The 12 institutes will network with the four existing centres of excellence. These are Bukalasa Agricultural College, Uganda Technical College Lira, Uganda Technical College Elgon and Uganda Technical College Bushenyi.

The Uganda skills development project was funded by World Bank.

The signing ceremony was witnessed by the permanent secretary with the education ministry, Joseph Kakooza, the undersecretary, Aggrey Kibenge and the assistant commissioner of technical education, Loy Muhwezi. World Bank officials as well as the principals and chairperson board of governors of the institutes were also present.

More From The Author

Related articles