• Home
  • Sport
  • Desh returns for Pearl of Africa Rally

Desh returns for Pearl of Africa Rally

By Johnson Were

Added 14th June 2017 10:04 AM

"We are in preparations and looking forward for a top three finish."

Deshkananura 703x422

"We are in preparations and looking forward for a top three finish."

PIC: Desh Kananura (in blue racesuit) and his navigator Moses Matovu (yellow sleeveless) chat with Hajji Gombe during the Kabalega Rally last year. (Credit: Johnson Were)


With the Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Rally being launched today, Desh Kananura is the latest driver to confirm his participation in the June 30-July 2 event  in Busiika, Luwero district and Kayunga district respectively.

The Desh Rally Team (DRT) president finished third in 2015 but dropped out of the event in 2016 citing fuel inadequacy.

Navigated by Mose Matovu in a Mitsubishi Evo10-R4, Desh is targeting the podium in an event that is the fifth round of the National Rally Championship (NRC) and also the fourth round of the Africa Rally Championship (ARC).

“We are okay. We are in preparations and looking forward for a top three finish,” said Odeon Tumwebaze, the DRT public relations manager.

The KFC ambassador has been out of action this season following surgery he underwent in March.

The others who have confirmed participation are teammate Ambrose Byona (Mitsubishi Evo9), who is also targeting a podium finish.

The crews entry list includes:

1. Abassi Mayinja/Frank Sserugo (Subaru Impreza N8.)

2. John Burrows Lumu/Nyanzi Ddungu (Subaru Impreza)

3. Christakis Fitidis/ Eric Nzamweta (EVO X)

4. Yassin Nasser/Ali Katumba (Subaru Impreza.)

5. Hassan Alwi Jr/Joseph Kamya (Subaru Impreza)

6.Gilberto Balondemu/Stephen Bunya (Toyota corolla –Fx)

7.Dr. Ashraf Ahmed /Rahma Muhammed (Subaru Impreza N14)

8.Otega Ismail / Joseph Lutalo Jr. (Toyota Run X)

9.Andrew Musoke/Joseph Bongole (Evo 6)

10.Arthur Blick/Noellah-Blick (Saburu ImprezaN10)

11.Gawaya Timothy/Namatovu (VW Golf)

12.Andrew Desh Kananura/Moses Matovu (Evo 10)

13.Sadat Negomba/Abdallah Zubebah (Toyota Vitz)

14.Black Widow/Nalumu Nichole (Mitsubish Pajero)


Related Articles

More From The Author

Related articles