EC announces elections in new districts

By Norah Mukimba

Added 30th June 2016 12:49 PM

Kagadi, Kakumiro, Omoro and Rubanda are new districts

Ecbiribonwa1 703x422

A journalist takes notes as Joseph Biribonwa, the deputy Chairperson Electoral Commission addresses a press conference at the EC offces. PHOTO: Roderick Ahimbazwe

Kagadi, Kakumiro, Omoro and Rubanda are new districts

The vice-chairman of the Electoral Commission, Joseph .N. Biribonwa, has announced the approval of the new programme for the parliamentary and local government council elections in the newly created districts.

The districts include; Kagadi, Omoro,Rubanda Kakumiro and Kibaale. He says the exercise will cost about sh1.7b.

Biribonwa said the Electoral Commission sent official communication to the districts to prepare for the elections.

He says July 7 has been set as the day for residual elections for local council leaders in Kasenda sub-county Kabarole district, Kinoni sub-county Kiruhura district and Nansana Municipality in Wakiso district.

He said the commission received 140 electoral petitions arising from the parliamentary elections of February 2016 whereby 40 have been completed, 22 won, 10 lost, 8 withdrawn, while others are still in court.

He says the local governments had 64 petitions, four have been completed, while 60 are still in court.

More From The Author

Related articles