• Home
  • Sport
  • Uganda starts defense of Africa Zone V Golf title

Uganda starts defense of Africa Zone V Golf title

By Michael Nsubuga

Added 13th April 2016 07:37 PM

Unlike last year when Uganda fielded 8 players, they will field 4 players

Aaaaaabig 703x422

Ronald Rugumayo will have to produce one of his best performannces for Uganda to stand a chance in Swaziland. Photo by Michael Nsubuga

Unlike last year when Uganda fielded 8 players, they will field 4 players

Team Uganda starts their title defense of the Zone V1 Africa Golf Championship today at the Royal Swailand Golf Club in a rather disadvantaged position.

Unlike last year when Uganda fielded 8 players and won the championship, they will now field a team of 4 players against other Region 5 (former Zone V1) countries who are fielding 8 players (two teams) each.

As a result the four-man team of Adolf Muhumuza, Ronald Rugumayo, Ronald Otile and Daniel Baguma will have to be at their best to return home with the trophy.

The team arrived on Saturday and had two practice rounds ahead of the official practice round held on Monday and it is hoped that has given them enough momentum to tackle the tough challenge.

Last year surprise winners Uganda (18.5pts) clinched the annual championships in style, winning six games in the last singles action round to edge record champions South Africa by a point to clinch their maiden title.

The Ugandans became the third country to win Africa’s premier golfing event behind South Africa and Kenya who won in 2010.

For the first time since the championship was started in 1982, the event will be played under a new format with an 18-hole stroke-play qualifying event setting the tournament in motion today.

Based upon the results of the stroke play qualifier (best 3 scores), teams will then be seeded into divisions with 8 teams in the “A” Division.

A country versus country head to head knockout match-play will then be held on days; 2 and 3 of the tournament, before the final round to determine the winner. No country will be allowed to have more than one team in any division.

The new changes were proposed by South Africa two years ago and agreed during last year’s championship in Uganda.

The event has also been re-named the Africa Region Five Championship according to the recent zonal changes made by the Supreme Council for Sports in Africa (SCSA).

More From The Author

Related articles