Kenya's Nduva wins Pam Golding Golf Open

By Michael Nsubuga

It was the fifth major championship win for the 23-year-old who has also won three majors at home this year

Aaaaaaa big 350x210


Kenya's Daniel Nduva returned 208 gross over 54-holes to win the Pam Golding Safari Tour Golf Amateur Tournament at the Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort and Spa on Friday.

Two months after he won the Uganda Open on the same course, Nduva returned to familiar territory and was in the same devastating form, winning with a six-under and beating his fellow Kenya national team player Mike Kisia to the top by 13 strokes.

"I always find this course in good condition. You can't complain here about the greens, they are cut to the speed I like; they are good and firm, the course conditions are very good and that allows me to play good golf here," Nduva a member of the Nyali Golf Club said.

"My iron shots and my putting were very good this time, I really had a lot of good putts; the greens are so nice and fast you don't even need to stroke the ball very hard. If you can have your ball in the centre of the greens you can easily go low on this course,"

It was the fifth major championship win for the 23-year-old who has also won three majors at home this year.

"This is one of my best seasons ever, I have worked hard; I have tried to go through the tough times and persevered through the good times; all in all it has been a good year," Nduva noted.

Tooro Golf Club's Denis Asaba finished third while Mehta Golf Club's Godfrey Nsubuga finished fourth while Jinja Golf Club's Grace Kasango and Palm Valley Golf and Country Club's David Spencer tied in fifth.

Twenty-eight golfers from Uganda and Kenya participated in the amateur tournament that was played alongside the professionals whose tournament ends on Saturday. 

Top ten

Daniel Nduva (KEN) 70 67 71 208

Mike Kisia (KEN)      77 71 73 221

Denis Asaba (UG)      76 72 75 223

Godfrey Nsubuga (UG) 71 76 77 224

Grace Kasango  (UG) 74 75 77 226

David Spencer    (UG) 70 76 80 226

Joseph Cwinya-ai (UG) 77 72 78 227

Tadeo Gaita          (UG) 75 79 73 227

Ebil Omollo       (KEN) 80 72 75 227

Michael Alunga    (UG) 74 81 75 230

Emmanuel Jakisa (UG) 78 73 79 230