Four nominated for Jinja East by-election

By Donald Kiirya

NRM flagbearer Nathan Igeme Nabeta says he will follow his party's manifesto and continue lobbying for the people of Jinja East.

Jinja east nabeta 350x210

PIC: NRM's Nathan Igeme Nabeta (left) being congratulated by Jinja district returning officer George Sserunjogi after being nominated on Tuesday. (Credit: Donald Kiirya)


JINJA - The Electoral Commission on Tuesday started the nomination exercise of candidates for the Jinja Municipality East Constituency by-election.

The nomination started at 9:00am local time and four contenders were successfully nominated to contest in the March 15 polls.

The nominated candidates are NRM flagbearer Nathan Igeme Nabeta, FDC's Paul Mwiru and independents Faisal Mayemba and Eng. Francis Wakabi.

On his part, Nabeta said he will follow his party's manifesto and continue lobbying for the people of Jinja East.

His rival Mwiru said promoting health and educational standards in Jinja East rank high in his priorities.  If elected, he said his main focus will be on how to reduce the level of illiteracy in his area.

The FDC hopeful urged his supporters to focus on his campaign programme in order to win the elections.

Mwiru (right) was given the go-ahead by the Electoral Commission. (Credit: Donald Kiirya)




 Faisal Mayemba (with pink file) was also nominated. (Credit: Donald Kiirya)

If elected into office, Mayemba said he will promote various sports talents among the youth, particularly football, adding that many players from Jinja have succeeded in playing for the national team as well as other sides.

Mayemba said many youths in his constituency are unemployed. As such, he plans to lobby for investors to establish more industries in Jinja to create opportunities for the young people.

Meanwhile, the Jinja district Returning Officer, George Sserunjogi, cautioned candidates to desist from inciting their supporters into any acts of violence during campaigns.

After being nominated, the candidates, were accompanied by their supporters to their respective rally venues.