EALA members to be sworn in on Monday

By Wilson Manishimwe

Parliament of Uganda was the first House to elect members to the regional assembly on March 1, 2017

Daniel kidega 350x210

The fourth assembly of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) is set inaugurate members on Monday, December 18.

This follows the Parliament of Kenya's election of its nine representatives to the regional assembly.  

The nine elected members to EALA from Kenya are Simon Mbugua, Florence Jematiah, Mpuri  Aburi, Aden Noor and Wanjiku Muhia. Others are Oburu Odinga, Kennedy Kalonzo, Abdikadir Aden and Fatuma Ibrahim.

According to the press statement issued by Bobi Odiko, the senior public relations officer; EALA, preparations for the sitting are at an advanced stage in Arusha with a number of Speakers from the Partner States' Parliaments expected to grace the occasion.

"All Members are expected to be sworn in by the Clerk before election of the Speaker.  The new EALA Speaker who takes over from Rt Hon Daniel F. Kidega is expected to guide the Assembly over the next five years taking it a notch higher in the integration dispensation," reads part of the document.

Parliament of Uganda was the first House to elect members to the regional assembly on March 1, 2017. The nine-member team has three incumbents, Susan Nakawuki, Fred Mukasa Mbidde and Chris Opoka.  

The new faces to EALA are Rose Akol, Mathias Kasamba, Mary Mugyenyi and Paul Musamali. Others are Dennis Namara, and George Stephen Odongo.

According to the release, Parliament of Tanzania returned Adam Kimbisa and Maryam Ussi from the third Assembly.

The newcomers include Josephine Lemoyan, Happiness Lugiko, Pamela Maassay, Dr Ngwaru J Maghembe, Dr Abdullah Makame, Eng. Habib Mnyaa and Fancy Nkuhi.

Parliament of Rwanda's list submitted to EALA in May 2017 whereas that of Burundi elected Jean Marie Muhirwa, Leontine Nzeyimana, Ahingejeje Alfred,Marie Claire Burikukiye , VictorBurikukiye , Karerwa Mo-Mamo,Christophe Nduwayo , Pierre Claver  Rurakamvye  and Sophie Nsavyimana 


South Sudan's representatives are Ann Itto Leonardo, Gai Deng Nhial Deng,  Dr Woda Jaremiah Odok, Gabriel Garang Ahol and  Dr Gabriel Garang Arol. Others are Thomas D Deng, Mukulia Kennedy Ayason, Kim Duop and Gideon Gatpan Thoar.