Nakamoga, Yun top Cross Country Golf Challenge

By Michael Nsubuga

In the tournament, golfers play a distorted course away from their normal routine as a way of challenging their skills

Aaaaa big 350x210

Bridget Nakamoga got a perfect belated birthday gift when she won the Ladies Section organised Cross Country Golf Challenge at Kitante on Saturday.

She returned 65nett to beat a strong field of competitors to the top prize, winning herself a golf bag and a night for two at the Trackers Safari Lodge in Bwindi including air travel to the place.

Kim Jeong Yun will also enjoy the same privileges after coming top in the men's category after carding 56nett.

"I celebrated my birthday on Wednesday and it went unnoticed as I didn't get any gift from anyone, but this win comes in handy," Nakamoga, a UCU student said before golfers sang her birthday lyrics.

Ladies captain Mary Ochieng said the tournament was organised to give the golfers a different challenge from their normal routine.

im eong un 3rd  and akamoga pose with their prizes handed out by ulanyah eft is  vicecaptain nne beja and ady aptain ary chieng 2nd  hoto by ichael subugaKim Jeong Yun (3rd L) and Nakamoga pose with their prizes handed out by Oulanyah. Left is ULGU vice-captain Anne Abeja and Lady Captain Mary Ochieng (2nd L). Photo by Michael Nsubuga

She urged the chief guest, Deputy Speaker of Parliament Jacob Oulanyah, to help in protecting the only green belt (golf course) remaining in Kampala from encroachers.

In the cross country tournament golfers play a distorted course away from their normal routine as a way of challenging their skills.

The tournament was sponsored by Kenya Ports Authority, Gems Cambridge International School and Trackers Safari Lodge.

Overall winners

Ladies: Bridget Nakamoga 61nett

Men: Kim Jeong Yun 56

Group A

Gloria Mbaguta 65c/b

Peace Kabasweka 65

Katy Kabenge 67

Group B

Tian Qui Xiang 68

Sheilla Kesiime 69c/b

Edrae Kagombe 69

Group C

Grace Njeri 65

Mi Jung Kun 68c/b

Njeri Kinyoho 68

Group A-Men

Joseph Mawejje 60

Paul Baite 61

Charles Mubiru 62c/b

Group B

Li Ming Jun 59

Nyaga Ngari 61

Yunus Bbaale 62c/b

Group C

Wei Young Chung 61

Lin Hung Jung 62

Jian Zhang 62

Guest winners

Franklin Gichuru 72

Edward Okeck

Longest drives

Franklin Gichuru

Vincent Katutsi

Nearest to the pin

Annette Kiconco

Dan Kajungu