EC nominates 12 candidates to fill Kagadi positions

By Ismael Kasooha

"The exercise was generally peaceful ..."

Kagadi nominees 350x210

PIC: Dennis Ebong consults using a phone during the nomination exercise at Kagadi electoral offices. Photos/Ismael Kasooha

The electoral commission has successfully nominated 12 candidates to vie for different positions of leadership in the newly created district of Kagadi.

Dennis Ebong, the district returning officer Kagadi told the New Vision that two women nominated for the position of Woman Member of Parliament are Margret Naziiwa Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) flag bearer and Janifer Mbabazi, the National Resistance Movement (NRM) flag bearer. The duo was nominated on July 28, 2016.

For the LC V chairperson seat, three candidates were nominated: Steven Byaruhanga (NRM), Yosia Ndibwami (Independent) and Peter Byahangire (FDC).

Ebong said that five councilors were unopposed after no other persons appeared for nomination by close of day two at 5:00pm.

Those declared unopposed are Swizen Wamala(NRM) district male councilor for older persons, Josephine Nakate (NRM) female district councilor for older persons, Vincent Aligonzawenka male district councilor for people with disabilities (PWDs), Mary Mugizi female district councilor for PWDs and Rogers Aliganyira male district councilor representing the youth.

The female youth district councilor had two candidates nominated and these will tussle it out. The candidates are Sarah Kobusingye (Independent) and Anisher Ainembabazi (NRM).

Ebong described the nomination exercise as peaceful and calm and said that campaigns will officially start on Sunday after all the candidates harmonized their schedules.

"The exercise was generally peaceful and we did not register any incident during the two-day exercise," said Ebong.

 ennis bong the returning officer agadi district Dennis Ebong, the returning officer Kagadi district

He said that campaigns will end 48 hours to the election date of August 2016, 2016.

Ebong appealed to the candidates to abide by the rules and regulations governing elections to avoid being disqualified or court cases thereafter.

In a related development, Eric Gimei the returning officer Kibaale said that three candidates were nominated for Kibaale district Woman Member of Parliament. They include; Noeline Kisembo Basemera (NRM), Proscovia Kunihira (FDC) and Lillian Kabaliisa(independent).

He described the exercise as peaceful and calm.

In Kakumiro district, Erikwaine Ngobbi the returning officer said that two candidates were nominated for the LC V seat: Joseph Ssentayi (NRM) and Gerald Ssemanda Apuuli (independent).

One person, Ivan Sekamate was turned away after failing to present the original Ordinary level certificate.

In other positions, most of the candidates were unopposed who include Karoli Kamaniyire, male councilor for older persons Florence Kagwa female district councilor for older persons Beth Nakyanzi Lubowa, Female district councilor for PWDs and Joseph Ajuna male district councilor for PWDs.