Super Lady Suzan Muwonge vows to defend her NRC title

By Johnson Were

The Super Lady as she is popularly known has vowed to go for her third title next year by defending this year’s victory.

Dsc5702 350x210

National Rally Champion Suzan Muwonge is not retiring from the sport soon and hopes to defend the title next year.

The Super Lady as she is popularly known has vowed to go for her third title next year by defending this year’s victory.

“I’m happy having it for the second time. I have to celebrate, but the celebration will not be long because we have to start planning how to defend our title,” Muwonge told New Vision after receiving the Elgon Rally trophy from Oryx Marketing manager Paul Kakande.

She said whereas, the SBI Kabalega rally in Hoima where she finished second gave increased her chances of the NRC title, Elgon rally in Mbale sealed it all.

“I think the Hoima rally boosted my chances, but the break through to the title was this rally (Elgon Rally) because until the last section, I was still nervous that anything can happen and end our title hopes.”

She appealed to the corporate companies to support her as motorsport requires a lot of money.

Rally drivers including Godfrey Lubega, Hassan Alwi and Christakis Fitidis congratulated her saying she deserved it.

 Muwonger powers her Subaru to victory

Muwonge has now won the NRC twice, equaling Charlie Lubega and Ponsiano Lwakataka. Sam Ssali won it four times, while Jas Mangat and Ronald Ssebuguzi won it thrice.

MOSAC lauded

The organisers of the event Motorsport Africa Club (MOSAC) were lauded for organising an accident free event by sponsors Oryx.

“As sponsors we are happy with the organisation and we are convinced to continue sporting MOSAC," the sponsors said in a statement.

NRC Winners

Suzan Muwonge 2011 & 2018

Christakis Fitidis 2017

Jas Mangat 2012,2013 &2016.

Ronald Ssebuguzi 2006,2009 &2014.

Arthur Blick Jr.2015

Nasser Mutebi 2010

Dr. Ashraf Ahmed 2008

Ponsiano Lwakataka 2005 & 2007

Charlie Lubega 2000,2001,2002 & 2004

Moses Lumala 1999 & 2003.

Unofficial NRC standings

1.Suzan Muwonge 395pts

2.Jas Mangat 305pts

3.Ronald Ssebuguzi 300

MOSAC Rally Past Winners

2018 Suzan Muwonge

2017- Ssebuguzi Ronald/Leon Ssenyange

2016- Jas Mangat/Joseph Kamya

2015- Arthur Blick Jr/Unisan Bakunda

2014- Ssebuguzi Ronald/Cedric Buzabo

 2013-John Consta /Musa Nsubuga.

Top NRC Winners

Sam Ssali (four)

Charlie Lubega 4

Jas Mangat 3

Ronald Ssebuguzi 2

Moses Lumala 2

Suzan Muwonge 2