Atuhaire, Nakalembe top Castle Lite Entebbe Mug of Mugs

By Michael Nsubuga

Playing off handicap 2, Nakalembe’s 76 nett was the best of the lot in the ladies Group A where Basiima (handicap 14) scored 77.

Golfebbmug32 350x210

Entebbe Golf Club members celebrate with the Helment Cup after they edged their Kilembe counterparts at Entebbe. PHOTO: Michael Nsubuga

Entebbe lady golfers Irene Nakalembe and Bridget Basiima got a feel of what awaits them at the Uganda Ladies Open that tees off on Thursday when the two came top at the Castle Lite quarterly Mug of Mugs at Entebbe Club on Saturday.

Playing off handicap 2, Nakalembe’s 76 nett was the best of the lot in the ladies Group A where Basiima (handicap 14) scored 77.

Pamela Tumusiime and Rita Apell who leads the series in the ladies category also strengthened their positions to claim the overall mug at the end of the season when they came top in the ladies Group B.

But it was Andrew Atuhaire’s 69nett that took the overall honours in the one-day outing that attracted 130 players.

Atuhaire (HC23) was five strokes better than Michael Tumusiime and who led Group A, where Patrick Mugisha and Isaac Mariera who are chasing the overall crown alongside Ronnie Kasirye, Daniel Opwonya and Twinemanzi Tumubweineee, were six and nine strokes off the winner.

 Castle Lite Brand Manager Julian Ssentamu ( left) and Entebbe Club Secretary Paul Katuramu (center) presents prizes to Suubi Kiwanuka (for Andrew Atuhaire) after the Entebbe Mug of Mugs at Entebbe Club.

The Barclays Bank and DStv co-sponsored event was lightened up on the ‘19th hole’ by the  DStv quiz night where golfers knowledge on different issues were tested with the best ten winning themselves free monthly DStv subscriptions.

In the Entebbe versus Kilembe Helment Challenge cup that was played concurrently, Atuhaire, Ali Juuko, Fred Kasumba, Pamela Tumusiime and Denis Oola inspired Entebbe to the rotation trophy victory with 771 nett to Kilembe’s 771 nett.

Some of Kilembe’s best on the day included Habib Kisande, Peter Obita, Joseph Otwane, Gad Musasizi and Mark Nsubuga. The tournament was revived about five years ago.

Overall winner

Andrew Atuhaire 69c/b

Group A

Michael Tumusiime 74nett

Patrick Mugisha 75

Isaac Mariera 79

Group B

Ali Juuko 69nett

John Muchiri 73c/b

Edward Kabuchu 73

Group C

Fred Kasumba 71

Dennis Oola 72

David Tugume 73

Ladies Group A

Irene Nakalembe 76nett

Bridget Basiima 77

Group B

Pamela Tumusiime 71

Rita Akot Apell 74

Seniors (55+years)

David Scanlon 76

Guest Winner

Lino Anguzu 70