Kato, Ongom win first National Beach Volleyball Tour

By Michael Nsubuga

The next beach volleyball outing is slated for May 20-21

Aaaaaaabig 350x210

Emma Kato and Ivan Ongom got a perfect warm up ahead of the African Nations Cup in Mozambique when they won the first National Beach Volleyball Tour at Lido Beach on Sunday.

van ngom and mma ato  celebrate winning the mens final hoto by ichael subugaIvan Ongom and Emma Kato (R) celebrate winning the men's final. Photo by Michael Nsubuga

The two who are set to represent the country in the May 10-15 tournament alongside Dickens Otim and Kathbert Malinga, beat Otim who partnered with Jean Luc Mbonyuwontuma, 2-1 in the final.

Otim and Mbonyuwontuma took the first set 21-19 before Kato and Ongom showed resilience, clawing back to take the second 21-17 and the decisive one; 19-17 to win the biggest cash prize on the day.

Kato and Ongom had beaten Mathew Mwenyi / Daud Okello, 2-1 in the semifinals while Otim and Mbonyuwontuma had eliminated Ronald Kitosi and John Mark, 2-0.

In the women’s category, the pair of Sharon Pajije / Eunice Amuron was too strong for Jackline Achieng / Shamim Makongoro with the former winning in straight sets 21-12, 21-17 (2:0) to take first place.

haron ajije  and unice muron go for the same ball during the final hoto by ichael subugaSharon Pajije (L) and Eunice Emuron go for the same ball during the final. Photo by Michael Nsubuga

The national team pair of Peace Busingye and Margaret Namyalo finished third overall after seeing off Eunice Nuwabigaba and Faith Magole 2-0, (22-20, 21-7).

The finalists, Achieng and Makongoro had also earlier beaten Joan Nabbito and Kauthar Kagoya 2-1 (20-22, 21-19, 15-08).

The next beach volleyball outing is slated for May 20-21 at the same venue.



S.Pajije / E.Amuron bt G. Kamede / H. Namara, 2-0

P. Busingye /M. Namyalo bt I. Muhumuza / G. Nakiwolo, 2-0

E.Nuwabigaba / F. Magole bt P. Zalwango / H. Nakimuli Helen, 2-1

J. Achieng / S. Makongoro bt J. Nabbito / K. Kagoya, 2-1


M. Mwenyi / D. Okello beat E. Elanyu / G. Aporu 2-1

E. Kato / I. Ongom bt M. Mulondo / J. Magoma 2-0

D. Otim / Mbonyuwontuma bt A. Ssemanda / Y. Kimogofu 2-0

R. Kitosi /J. Okurut bt P. Ariho / M. Ddamulira 2-0