Golf: Chinese dominate Captain's Prize tournament

By Michael Nsubuga

In the ladies category, Aggie Konde, Sheila Kesiime and Gloria Mbaguta were the top players in Group A

Aaaaaaabig 350x210

Chinese golfers Kim Jeong and Soon Yeon Hong returned 69 and 70 nett respectively to emerge overall winners of the 15thedition of the Hima Cement Captain’s Prize Golf Tournament that ended at Kitante on Saturday.

ackson avuma  receives the roup  winners trophy from  president ohnson molo hoto by ichael subugaJackson Kavuma (L) receives the Group B winner’s trophy from UGU president Johnson Omolo. Photo by Michael Nsubuga


Jeong, playing off handicap 19 topped a strong field of men as Hong also won on the day against established ladies, in the one-day tournament played in the honour of club Captain Anthony Kerali who is completing his first year at the helm.

The gross category prize went to Joseph Mawejje whose five-over-par 77 was enough in beating John Basabose to the top prize by 3 strokes.

Becca Mwanja, Paul Baite, Jackson Kavuma and Wahab Atibu were the top players in the men’s Groups A-D where, Faiz Alam, Charles Mubiru, Yunus Bbaale and Akura Munyenyi were runners-up respectively.

gnes onde  receives her prize from the inister of orks and ransport onica tege hoto by ichael subugaAgnes Konde (L) receives her prize from the Minister of Works and Transport, Monica Ntege. Photo by Michael Nsubuga


In the ladies category, Aggie Konde, Sheila Kesiime and Gloria Mbaguta were the top players in Group A while Caroline Namutebi, Regina Ddamulira and Jackleine Nyakaisiki were the better players on the day in Group B.

Hima Cement Finance Director Alain Dibadjou and Minister of Works and Transport Monica Ntege presided over the prize ceremony where winners walked away with trophies and goodies. 


Overall winners

Men: Kim Jeong 69nett

Ladies: Soon Yeon Hong 70nett

Gross winners

Men: Joseph Mawejje 77

R/up: John Basabose 80

Group A

1-Becca Mwanja 71nett

2-Faiz Alam 73

3-Michael Tumusiime 74

Group B

1-Paul Baite 72

2-Charles Mubiru 75

3-Charles Kareeba 76

Group C

1-Jackson Kavuma 72c/b

2-Yunus Bbaale 72

3-Hillary Ndugutse 73

Group D

1-Wahab Atibu 70

2-Akura Munyenyi 73

3-Francis Otim 74

Ladies Group A

1-Aggie Konde 72

2-Sheilla Kesiime 75

3-Gloria Mbaguta 77

Group B

1-Caroline Namutebi 72

2-Regina Ddamulira 73

3-Jackeline Nyakaisiki 75

Guest winners

Habib Kisande

J. Kusemererwa

Longest drive

Men: Benson Katema

Ladies: Eva Magala