Day one: Two candidates nominated for woman MP Kagadi

By Ismael Kasooha

On the first day of nominations at the registrar’s office in Kagadi, two women were successfully nominated to run for the position of woman Member of Parliament Kagadi.

Kagadiwomanmpcandidates1 350x210

PIC:  NRM’s Janifer Mbabazi after being nominated for woman MP Kagadi district. Photo/ Ismael Kasooha

As the new districts that started on July 1st this year take shape, the electoral commission has begun the process to elect leaders in these districts.

On the first day of nominations at the registrar’s office in Kagadi, two women were successfully nominated to run for the position of woman Member of Parliament Kagadi.

At 2:25pm Margaret Naziiwa, the Forum for democratic change (FDC) was nominated first by Denis Ebong the returning officer Kagadi electoral area.

Ebong said that Naziiwa had fulfilled all the requirements to run for the position of woman MP and after perusing through her papers, he declared her as a duly nominated candidate.

“After having fulfilled all the requirements I hereby declare you duly a nominated candidate for the position of woman MP Kagadi and wish you good campaigns,” said Ebong.

Naziiwa talking to the New Vision soon after being nominated vowed to fight for women’s rights and freedoms in the new district.

Naziiwa said that being born and educated in Kagadi, she deemed it necessary to come and serve her people.

 argaret aziiwa being nominated at agadi district electoral commission offices Margaret Naziiwa being nominated at Kagadi district electoral commission offices

“I want to pay back to my people because they looked after me so I could not remain in Kampala and abandon my area,” said Naziiwa.

She said that the area has potential for tourism but most leaders have not ventured in this which would create more jobs for the local people.

“We have tourism potential which is untapped but I will ensure that this sector is developed,” said Naziiwa.

Meanwhile at 3:35pm, Janifer Mbabazi of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) was nominated and vowed to ensure that the NRM manifesto benefits all women in Kagadi district.

Mbabazi said that she will ensure that all the promises made by the NRM government are fulfilled and wants to help women form groups to benefit from financial support from government through the micro finance support center.

“I want women groups right from parish level to the sub-county to benefit from funds availed by the government through SACCOs,” said Mbabazi.

The returning officer Kagadi Denis Ebong asked the candidates to report to his office on Saturday so that they could harmonise their campaign programmes.

The nominations for the LCV chairpersons could not start as expected because the names of the nominators were not tallying with those in the voter register.

The two candidates Steven Byaruhanga Mfashingabo and Yosia Ndibwami were advised to harmonize the lists of the nominators as soon as possible.

But by 4:35pm Byaruhanga had already rectified the anomaly and turned up for nomination.

Byaruhanga is the NRM flag bearer for LCV chairperson Kagadi while Ndibwami is running as an independent after losing to Byaruhanga in the primaries.

Peter Byahangire of FDC for the same seat was also asked to put right the nominators.

Elsewhere in Kibaale district, Noeline Kisembo Basemera was nominated as the NRM flag bearer at around 11:00am by Eric Gimei the returning officer of the area.

Another FDC candidate Proscovia Kunihira was also nominated for the same seat.