Owomugisha beats over 100 to Mbarara Open title

By Michael Nsubuga

“I have been around this course since 2011 so I know it very well because I work on it every day."

Mbra 350x210

PIC: MPs Charles Ngabirano (left), Michael Tusiime, General Ivan Koreta, Ambassador Zhao Yali and Minister John Byabagambi crown Bruce Owomugisha (2nd left) after he won the Mbarara Open. (Credit: Michael Nsubuga)

Mbarara Golf Club’s Bruce Owomugisha returned 38 stable ford points to win the Mbarara Open at Mbarara Club on Saturday.

Playing off handicap 15, the 28 year old who is a tractor driver at the club used local knowledge to beat over 100 golfers to the championship.  He go two birdies and fiver pars en-route to his 5th championship in three years.

“I have been around this course since 2011 so I know it very well because I work on it every day so as others struggled on the hard and dry terrain I found my way around it,” Owomugisha said.

Despite the dry course, the championship was tightly fought out in all categories with Kigali based Ugandan golfer Stephen Katwiremu (37pts) beating Ronald Mugisha on count-back in Group A where Rodell Gaita also finished on 37 points.

The battle for top spot in Group B was also fierce with Michael Busingye also beating Geoffrey Orach on count-back just like in Group C where last year’s winner Edwin Muhereza won in similar fashion over Elichum Mutahooka.

Martha Babirye from Jinja was the biggest winner in the ladies category walking away with three prizes on the night. Apart from being runner up to Gloria Mbaguta in Group A, the Jinja golfer also took the ladies’ longest drive and nearest to the pin trophies.

Group B winner Maria Tumusiime (2nd left) and her son pick her prizes from Jinja Club captain Joseph Nkurunziza and Chairman Morgan Otile (right). (Credit: Michael Nsubuga)

Maria Tumusiime was the best in Group B where Edrae Kagombe and Kate Muganga were first and second runners up respectively.

Chinese ambassador to Uganda Zhao Yali presided over the prize ceremony alongside Minister for Karamoja John Byabagambi, area MP Michael Tusiime and several MP’s from the greater western region.

Earlier Deo Akope had claimed the biggest share of sh15m in the professional’s category.

The tournament was sponsored by China Railway Seventh Group, Tusker, Pepsi, Johnnie Walker Platinum whisky and Club Vegas.


Overall winner

Bruce Owomugisha 38pts

Group A

1-Stephen Katwiremu 37pts c/b

2-Ronald Mugisha 37c/b

3-Rodell Gaita 37

Group B

1-Michael Busingye 38c/b

2-Geoffrey Orach 38c/b

3-Chris Mwesigwa 37

Group C

1-Edwin Muhereza 35c/b

2-Elichum Mutahooka 35

3-Victor Kalenzi 34

Ladies Group A

1-Gloria Mbaguta 35pts

2-Martha Babirye 34

3-Sheilla Kesiime 31

Group B

1-Maria Tumusiime 37

2-Adrae Kagombe 36

3-Kate Muganga 35