Mbabazi: Uganda’s tenth Prime Minister
Publish Date: May 26, 2011
Newvision Archive
  • mail
  • img

By Joseph Kizza
PRESIDENT Yoweri Museveni on Tuesday announced his choice of Prime Minister, the out-going security minister Amama Mbabazi. Mbabazi, also the National Resistance Movement (NRM) Secretary General, becomes the tenth Premier in Uganda’s political history.

Even before Uganda achieved its independence on October 9, 1962, it had months before then acquired internal self-Government on March 1, 1962 with Benedict Kiwanuka becoming the first Premier in the new National Assembly, to earn himself a place in Uganda’s history books. However, Kiwanuka only served two months in office until April 30, 1962.

On April 30, 1962, Milton Obote of the Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) replaced Kiwanuka for the Premiership. He assumed power following an appointment by Sir Walter Courts, then Governor-General of Uganda.

Obote served as Uganda’s second Premier for four years until April 15, 1966. Between April 15 and December 18, 1980, the post of Prime Minister was abolished—an era highly dominated by the Idi Amin’s dictatorial regime.

It was not until Amin was ousted and the Obote II Government was toppled that the post was re-introduced. Otema Allimadi served as the third ever Premier from December 18, 1980 to July 27, 1985. Allimadi, the foreign minister in the Obote II Government (1979-1980) was replaced by Paul Muwanga on August 1 1, 1985. He served for only three weeks, to record the shortest time in Uganda’s Premiership history.

Muwanga was later succeeded by Abraham Waligo, whose term in office expired on January 26, 1986 when Museveni’s National Resistance Movement (NRM) seized power.

Immediately Museveni took over power, he appointed the late Dr. Samson Kisekka, Prime Minister on January 31, 1986, which post he served for five years.

When Kisekka got promoted to Vice President, George Cosmas Adyebo replaced him as Premier. Adyebo ran the office until November 18, 1994, lasting nearly four years in service.

From November 18 1994 to April 5 1999, the Prime Minister office was ran by Kintu Musoke, documenting him as Uganda’s eighth.

Kintu was succeeded by Prof. Apolo Nsibambi on April 5 1999, a position he held until recently on May 24 2011 when Mbabazi took over. Nsibambi has been the longest serving Premier in Uganda’s political past.

Unlike the Vice President position which has had a female leader, Dr. Specioza Wandera Kazibwe, all the past Prime Ministers of Uganda have been male.

The statements, comments, or opinions expressed through the use of New Vision Online are those of their respective authors, who are solely responsible for them, and do not necessarily represent the views held by the staff and management of New Vision Online.

New Vision Online reserves the right to moderate, publish or delete a post without warning or consultation with the author.Find out why we moderate comments. For any questions please contact

  • mail
  • img
blog comments powered by Disqus
Also In This Section
FORMER president Dr. Apollo Milton Obote has been honoured for his distinguished service to Busoga College Mwiri and the nation....
THE Ministry of Health has appealed to religious groups to counsel men to stop having extramarital sex to stem the raising rates of HIV infections....
THE Chinese community in Uganda on Tuesday celebrated their 62nd independence anniversary....
MAKERERE University has sued the National Insurance Corporation (NIC) over a sh16.7b pension savings package it claims the insurance giant owes it....
PRESIDENT Yoweri Museveni will lead the alumni of the University of Dar-es-Salaam in Uganda to a fundraising drive targeting sh1b for the Tanzania-based institution....
THE UPDF officers, dressed in neatly pressed uniforms complete with gleaming black boots, took to the podium, many accompanied by their spouses. Then, they were decorated....
Is Uganda ready for the pope's visit?
Can't Say
follow us
subscribe to our news letter